Okonomiyaki (O-ko-no-mee-ya-kee)

WIKIPEDIA: Okonomiyaki is a Japanese savoury pancake containing a variety of ingredients. The name is derived from the word okonomi, meaning “what you like” or “what you want,” and yaki meaning “grilled” or “cooked.”

As an avid watcher of anime (Japanese animation), I’ve seen this dish depicted often in the shows and movies I’ve watched. It wasn’t until I came across a recipe from Food52 that I became interested in making them. Okay, I’ve never actually had this dish at a Japanese restaurant or in Japan, so I don’t have a point of reference. Despite that, I think this is a great recipe. It’s not too complicated, and it’s DELICIOUS. There’s a decent amount of prep, but it’s worth it in the end.

Here’s my most recent efforts in creating these delectable pancakes – click on thumbnails to enlarge:

The main ingredients:

Additional ingredients:

Of course, mustn’t forget the eggs.

This was my first attempt with squid in the batter. It’s not in the original recipe, but it was a welcome addition. If you love squid as much as I do, I think you’d enjoy it in the okonomiyaki. Since squid takes a bit longer to cook than the rest of the ingredients, I decided to pre-cook it before adding it to the mixture. Here’s what I did to prepare the squid:

Slice whole squid into halves. Score the inside with diagonal, crosshatched strokes like below.

Then, slice the squid horizontally into strips.

Combine all the ingredients and seasonings together, and then cook it in a pan with oil.

Sprinkle toasted sesame seeds on top of the cooked okonomiyaki. Serve the okonomiyaki with a sriracha soy mayo dip.

Hope you enjoyed my okonomiyaki adventure! Have I made you curious now?

- The Curious Cook

RECIPE: Food Republic’s Okonomiyaki

The Curious Cook wants to hear from you!

