The Case of the Curious Cook & Birthday Cake Oreos

I hope by now you’ve all seen this teaser photo I posted on Tuesday (March 6) and are excited to find out what I created in celebration of Oreo’s 100th Birthday. Your wait is now over!

TA-DAH…

Birthday Cake Oreo Cheesecake!

 

Birthday Cake Oreos

Limited edition indeed. The Birthday Cake Oreos weren’t available at my local grocery store or any other store I visited up until the special day. As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, there are less than a handful of locations in the NYC area that sell them.

I got curious about the special, limited edition Birthday Cake Oreos after reading about them from friends and other sources on the Internet. I had never had any type of Oreo cookie (strawberry, peanut butter, mint, etc.) other than the original flavor, and I wondered what these would taste like.

Luckily, my friend, Matt, had stocked up on them after he found a place selling the cookies, and he kindly offered me a package of them.

When I opened the package, the first thing that I noticed was the smell—it REALLY did smell like cake. On the outside, one of the cookie wafers has a special imprint to commemorate the special occasion. The filling seems a bit lighter than the normal Oreo creme filling and also has rainbow sprinkles mixed into it. And, of course, it tasted like birthday cake!

The Curious Cook’s Birthday Cake Oreo Cheesecake

My special creation is a twist on an Oreo cheesecake I used to make when I was younger except that I switched out some of the regular Oreo cookies with the Birthday Cake Oreos.

Since I could only find ONE bag of the limited edition cookies, I didn’t have enough of the special cookies to make the crust as well. It’s a good thing I had bought a package of regular Oreo cookies as backup.

Birthday Cake Oreos were chopped up and folded into the cream cheese batter.

Oh, the colors!

I wanted to replicate the look of the Birthday Cake Oreo creme filling by adding sprinkles to the cream cheese batter, which I think is the same method in creating confetti-looking cake.

The finishing touch…

A single Oreo cookie.

 

I left the cheesecake in the oven a bit too long, and it got more brown on the top than I wanted. Besides that, I think the cheesecake came out well.

Just ask my friend, Sarah, here who joined me on Tuesday to cut into the Birthday Cake Oreo creation. This is the only shot she would let me take of her eating it, but she enjoyed the cheesecake!

Thanks for this moment…

Happy 100th Birthday, Oreo!

 

2 thoughts on “The Case of the Curious Cook & Birthday Cake Oreos

The Curious Cook wants to hear from you!

