Happy 100th Birthday, Oreo!

It’s true…the Oreo is 100 years young today.

I can’t believe the Oreo has been around for THAT long. Who HASN’T eaten an Oreo at least once during their childhood?! However, I’m sure no one’s surprised that Birthday Cake Oreos have been created for this special celebration.

I just discovered that the only place in Manhattan (below 117th St) that sells these limited edition cookies is at the Food Emporium near Union Square. If you’re not in NYC, you can find them using the product locator. Get them while they last!

 

Coincidentally, I’ve heard that there will be an Oreo Centennial Celebration in Union Square around noon today (March 6). If anyone’s going, tweet me at @CKTCblog!

I’ll be cooking up a special treat, if I can get my hands on a package, so stay tuned!

To be honest, I probably didn’t eat as many Oreo cookies compared to the average kid growing up in America. However, I enjoyed them back then and still like the sandwich cookies today. Every now and then, I’ll get a craving for Oreos…and there are no substitutes for The Oreo.

So how do YOU plan to celebrate Oreo’s 100th?

OREO TRIVIA: Did you know the first sale of Oreo sandwich cookies occurred just across the river in Hoboken, NJ?

Check out the more in-depth article at the New York Times: The Oreo Turns 100, With a Nod to the Past

Oreo’s 100th Birthday: Website, Twitter, Facebook

4 thoughts on “Happy 100th Birthday, Oreo!

  1. Pingback: SNEAK PEAK: The Case of the Curious Cook and Oreo’s 100th Birthday | curiosity killed the cook

  2. Pingback: The Case of the Curious Cook & Birthday Cake Oreos | curiosity killed the cook

The Curious Cook wants to hear from you!

