Tulsi

Source: nymag.com

A few weeks ago, I had the pleasure of dining at Tulsi, an Indian restaurant in Midtown East. As I stepped through the door, I felt as though I was being transported to a new world. The restaurant is beautiful—elegant and, yet, somewhat exotic at the same time. My friends and I were lucky enough to be seated in our very own booth with its long, sheer curtains, which made it feel like we had a private room.

Tulsi is one of only three Indian restaurants in the area to be awarded a star in the Michelin New York 2012 Guide. If you’re unfamiliar with the guide, just know that, out of all the restaurants in NYC, only 61 restaurants were bestowed the coveted award. Not only that, Tulsi achieved star status in its FIRST year of opening. That’s REALLY saying something. Oftentimes, restaurants don’t even last a full year.

When my friends and I decided to have lunch at Tulsi, it was also NYC Restaurant Week (more like “Weeks”), where 3-course lunches are fixed at $24.07 and dinners at $35. If you choose a restaurant wisely, that can result in significant savings. Not only that, I also had a Scoutmob coupon for up to $25 off our meals. (I’m pretty good at finding deals if I don’t say so myself. Just ask my friends!)

From the RW lunch menu, I ordered the Street Cart Chaats (starter), Tandoori Wild Salmon (entrée), and Pistachio Kulfi (dessert).

One of my friends who joined me for lunch also runs a food blog. Check out Dana’s blog, Casa KCD, to read about her experience at Tulsi and other restaurants: Random Day of Eating around NYC

If you’re interested in checking Tulsi for yourself, the Scoutmob coupon (50% off. $25 max discount) doesn’t expire until 07.04.12! All you have to do is download the mobile app and show the coupon to the restaurant once you’ve finished your meal. It’s easy as that.

And one last thing, here’s a nice article that talks about Indian food in NYC, which I found as I was researching lunch spots and found Tulsi: Haute Indian: Why here? Why now?

Tulsi: Website, Facebook, Twitter

2 thoughts on “Tulsi

The Curious Cook wants to hear from you!

