Don’s Bogam BBQ & Wine Bar

I met up with a friend for lunch one day, and we grabbed Korean food since she worked close to Koreatown. She took me to a restaurant that I had never been to called Don’s Bogam BBQ & Wine Bar. It was going to be more expensive than your average lunch, I thought, since the restaurant is located close to Midtown and it’s Korean food. Normally, these two things on their own would ring EXPENSIVE to me. However, Don’s Bogam had a pretty affordable lunch menu.

I ordered the Marinated Galbi Bibimbap (pictured above). To my knowledge, bibimbap is one of Korea’s signature dishes. In this version, rice and vegetables are served in a hot stone bowl. This style of bibimbap creates a crust at the bottom of the bowl that many people enjoy eating including myself. The word galbi in the dish’s name is Korean for short ribs. I don’t know how Korean’s do it, but their meat dishes are SO good.

Above is the banchan that we got. One of the reasons I like going to a Korean restaurant are these complimentary small dishes you get at the beginning of your meal.

Below is the dish my friend ordered, which is called Nakji-Bokkeum. It’s sliced octopus and assorted vegetables stir-fried in a spicy sauce. I had a taste of it, but it was a little too spicy for me. Unfortunately, I have a low tolerance for spicy foods (SHOCK!). I hate that it restricts what I can eat, especially Korean food.

There’s one thing I wanted to make sure to mention. Don’s Bogam is unique compared to any other Korean restaurant I’ve been to in Manhattan in terms of the design of the restaurant.

Source: donsbogam.com

Here, you don’t have your normal seating arrangement. Instead, short tables and leg-less chairs sit on a raised platform above the floor except the area underneath the table, which is recessed for your legs.

Source: donsbogam.com

 Don’s Bogam BBQ & Wine Bar: Website, Twitter

The Curious Cook wants to hear from you!

