Nom Wah Tea Parlor

The first time I heard about Nom Wah Tea Parlor was from a Tasting Table article I received through email. After that, I kept seeing the name pop up in a number of other articles, websites, blogs, and Twitter feeds. I was intrigued; it immediately went on my to-do list.

One thing I immediately noticed that makes Nom Wah different from other dim sum places I’ve visited is their presence on the Internet. Unlike some of its Chinatown competitors, the restaurant has taken advantage of what social media and technology could contribute to their business. Nom Wah has a website, a Facebook page, and a Twitter account. How many dim sum places do you know that use Facebook and Twitter?

Not only does Nom Wah use Facebook to inform people about their restaurant, but it also educates them on Chinese cuisine and culture. Another thing I like about Nom Wah is their interaction with consumers online. This is a trend that has been increasing in popularity among many types of businesses, not only in food. I, myself, really like the trend.

© 2012 Jennifer Kiamzon

When you visit Nom Wah Tea Parlor in person, the first thing that strikes you is that it looks like an old-school diner with its red, vinyl booths, checkerboard tablecloths, and counter with stools. The decor definitely makes it a memorable experience. The staff is friendly, and they’ve made the menu easy to understand for English-speaking customers. Unlike a typical dim sum place where the dishes are wheeled around in carts, Nom Wah’s dishes are made to order.

Okay, I’ve blabbered on long enough. Here are some tantalizing photos from Nom Wah Tea Parlor:

Just so you know, I didn’t expect to write so much, if at all, in my first restaurant post. I thought that Nom Wah was a bit unique in the way they did things, so I wanted to share my thoughts about it. Similar to posts about stuff I cook at home, a typical post will consist of mostly photos and maybe a short note about each image, but I don’t plan to critique a restaurant or a dish. If I like a restaurant, it’ll go up on the blog.

– Trang

P.S. In case you were curious, I’m definitely planning to make another visit to Nom Wah Tea Parlor, so I can try out the dishes I missed!

Nom Wah Tea Parlor: Website, Facebook, Twitter

The Curious Cook wants to hear from you!

