Probably not so “new” news

I’ll admit it. I’ve used a Paula Deen recipe here and there. Just last night, I tried out her recipe for “Angel Biscuits.” They were so light and fluffy…almost heavenly.

Har har.

Source: thenateshow.com

If the news hasn’t reached you yet, Paula Deen is about to reveal that she has diabetes. There’s been speculation for some time, but never any confirmation of it…until now. Looks like she’s struck a deal with a pharmaceutical company to be the spokeswoman of a drug she’ll take to treat her diabetes.

I don’t think the news of her health is a surprise to most people. Whenever her name is mentioned, all I can think of is butter. If you’ve ever cooked with one of her recipes, you know why.

Source: thedaily.com

I’m not a follower of Paula Deen, but I’ve been hearing her name quite a bit in the past six months. There’s been an on-going feud between her and Anthony Bourdain, one of my favorite food personalities, since August 2011. He told TV Guide that she is “the worst, most dangerous person to America.” If that wasn’t enough, she also got dissed by Jonah Hill on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno when he refused to try her cheeseburger meatloaf.

I enjoy fried foods and butter like any other foodie, but I know you can’t have it every day. I think we can all take a lesson from the Greeks—everything in moderation.

Check out the Daily article here: Paula’s big fat secret

UPDATE:

I meant to mention this, but it completely slipped my mind…

Whether it was planned or not, Paula Deen’s son, Bobby, has a new show on the Cooking Channel called Not My Mama’s Meals. Bobby Deen takes what he grew up eating and tries to make a healthier version of his mother’s recipes.

Hmm…coincidence?

Thanks to Christina from Casa KCD for the reminder!

3 thoughts on “Probably not so “new” news

  1. I think that Paula’s recipes are perfect for occasional use. Maybe a Holiday get together. But, overtime as I watched her show I realized it seemed to get crazier and crazier for novelty. It would be such a shame if she developed this disease by attempting to gather an audience.

  2. Pingback: Buttermilk Biscuits | curiosity killed the cook

The Curious Cook wants to hear from you!

