Holy Guacamole

I found myself having lots of ripened avocados laying around after buying them on sale one day at Whole Foods. I originally got them to make sandwiches, but I got tired of them after finishing just one avocado. Wanting to use the last three avocados before they went bad, I decided to make guacamole. Although I’ve eaten guacamole many times, I’ve never actually made guacamole at home. I found a recipe on Food Network by Alton Brown, and it turned out great! I liked Alton’s recipe because it had a lot of different ingredients and was still easy to make.

I’ve included the recipe below if you’d like to try it out. However, I should make one note. For those whose palates are sensitive to spicy foods (like me), I would reduce the amount of cayenne. After I tasted the guacamole, my tongue was definitely tingling a bit. I decided to look at the recipe again and also read the comments other users had made. It turns out the website posted a different amount of cayenne versus what Alton had said in the video clip.

One last thing—I’m testing out a new feature for my blog. For every post that includes a recipe, I want to know if you’re going to try out the dish in your own home. I hope you’ll partcipate!

– Trang

RECIPE: Alton Brown’s “Perfect Guacamole Dip”
→ (NOTE: reduce 1/2 tsp of cayenne to 1/4 tsp)

4 thoughts on “Holy Guacamole

The Curious Cook wants to hear from you!

