Lemons. And limes. And oranges. Oh my!

Ah, cupcakes. New York City is well known for its numerous shops and bakeries dedicated to this dessert. We all have our favorites…Magnolia, Buttercup, Crumbs, Billy’s, Sprinkles. The list goes on and on.

Initially, after moving to NYC, I enjoyed trying out these places for the very first time. After a while, though, I got sick of cupcakes. So when my friend, Brian, and I decided to have a cross-blog hangout and he suggested making cupcakes, I was hesitant at first. However, I knew that this was part of his 25 for 25 List, a personal project to complete 25 things before he turns 26, so I agreed to go along with it.

Having a passion for cooking, it was no surprise that one of his goals (#22) was to bake his way through Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes recipe book. The choices on the type of cupcake to make were abundant. However, one stood out among the rest—citrus. I don’t have much of a sweet tooth (I’m not much of a chocolate person), so I thought I’d enjoy something that was more fruity.

Also, it’s very appropriate for this time of year since citrus fruits are in season. Yes, citrus fruits like oranges, grapefruits, limes and lemons are in season during the winter months (I was surprised to learn that!).

Here, now, are Martha Stewart’s Triple Citrus Cupcakes. Enjoy!

Now that I think about it…

I think this is my first time making cupcakes from scratch. Not too shabby I dare say.

Meet Brian

Here’s my friend, Brian, in action. Check out his entry about our hangout at BEST Blog called A Cross Blog Extravaganza!

One last thing…

I almost forgot to mention that we enjoyed Frito pie for lunch. Brian and I had been thinking about what we wanted to make in addition to the cupcakes, and we both thought of Frito pie. Brian had actually made a comment about the regional dish on a previous blog entry, so that’s what we ate. It was his first time having it…and he absolutely loved it!

The Curious Cook wants to hear from you!

